As of June 25, 2020 New York, in conjunction with Connecticut and New Jersey, has imposed a quarantine rule for anyone entering New York from a state with a high rate of COVID spread.  Anyone coming into New York from a state with a high rate of COVID spread is required to self-quarantine for 14 days.  This means that these people need to remain at home or in their travel accommodations for 14 days after entering New York.  They may not leave home or their travel accommodations except to receive medical care, must refrain from having visitors come to their home or travel accommodations except as medically necessary, and check their temperatures daily.  Individuals in self-quarantine are also encouraged to get tested for COVID.  Going out for the purpose of obtaining a COVID test is not considered a violation of self-quarantine.

New York has determined that the states subject to self-quarantine are states where either 10 in every 100,000 of the state’s residents test positive for COVID, or states where 10% of the state’s overall population tests positive for COVID.  These measurements are taken over a 7 day rolling average.  New York will regularly publish a list of states for which the self-quarantine order applies.  The list of states subject to self-quarantine is the same for New York, New Jersey and Connecticut since the three states are administering the self-quarantine order jointly.  An updated map of states subject to the order can be found at  Additional information about the travel advisory, including the updated list of states and required quarantine procedures, can be found at  If an individual is caught violating the self-quarantine order, that person can face mandatory quarantine orders from the Department of Health and fines up to $10,000.  New York will put messaging on interstate highways notifying drivers of the self-quarantine, and will ask hotels and vacation rental companies to assist in enforcing compliance.  To report an individual violating the travel advisory by not self-quarantining, please call 1-833-789-0470 or your local health department.

Aside from the quarantine order for people entering New York from high-COVID states, New York has not released any guidance on when non-essential travel should resume.  The CDC recommends that non-essential travel be considered only when an area has had 42 days of sustained decline in new COVID cases.