As of June 25, 2020 New York, in conjunction with Connecticut and New Jersey, has imposed a quarantine rule for anyone entering New York from a state with a high rate of COVID spread. Anyone coming into New York from a state with a high rate of COVID spread is required to self-quarantine for 14 days. This means that these people need to remain at home or in their travel accommodations for 14 days after entering New York. They may not leave home or their travel accommodations except to receive medical care, must refrain from having visitors come to their home or travel accommodations except as medically necessary, and check their temperatures daily. Individuals in self-quarantine are also encouraged to get tested for COVID. Going out for the purpose of obtaining a COVID test is not considered a violation of self-quarantine, but a negative COVID test cannot be used to end a quarantine period early.
New York has determined that the states subject to self-quarantine are states where either 10 in every 100,000 of the state’s residents test positive for COVID, or states where 10% of the state’s overall population tests positive for COVID. These measurements are taken over a 7 day rolling average. New York will regularly publish a list of states for which the self-quarantine order applies. The list of states subject to self-quarantine is the same for New York, New Jersey and Connecticut since the three states are administering the self-quarantine order jointly. Additional information about the travel advisory, including the updated list of states and required quarantine procedures, can be found at https://coronavirus.health.ny.gov/covid-19-travel-advisory. If an individual is caught violating the self-quarantine order, that person can face mandatory quarantine orders from the Department of Health and fines up to $10,000. New York will put messaging on interstate highways notifying drivers of the self-quarantine, and is being assisted by hotels and vacation rental companies in enforcing compliance. Individuals entering NY via airport will be required to complete a travel form stating whether they have visited a state on the travel advisory list, and giving their contact information in NY so that the Department of Health can contact them regarding quarantine. Any individual who leaves the airport without completing this form will be subject to a $2,000 fine and a summons to appear in court. Airlines and airport staff are assisting the NYS Department of Health in enforcing this rule. The Department of Health is also establishing checkpoints at popular entry points into the New York City area, including several bridges and tunnels. To report an individual violating the travel advisory by not self-quarantining, please call 1-833-789-0470 or your local health department.
Aside from the quarantine order for people entering New York from high-COVID states, New York has not released any guidance on when non-essential travel should resume. The CDC recommends that non-essential travel be considered only when an area has had 42 days of sustained decline in new COVID cases. The Canadian border remains closed to all but essential travel at this time. The European Union is not allowing individuals from the United States to travel to EU countries until further notice.